5 Interesting Facts About Ogun State

Ogun state, sometimes known as ‘the Gateway State,’ is located in Nigeria’s southwestern area. The state is home to a large number of industrial estates and is regarded as Nigeria’s main manufacturing centre. It is a significant Nigerian state with a rich history and culture.

The following are 5 interesting facts about Ogun State:

  1. Ogun state was created by the Murtala/Obasanjo administration on the 3rd of February, 1976 from the Old Western State. The state was named after the Ogun River, which runs right across the state from north to south. The state currently has a total of 20 local government areas.
  2. Ogun state has six major ethnic groups: the Egba, the Ijebu, the Remo, the Egbado, the Awori and the Egun. There are also sub-groups like the Ikale, Ketu, Ohori and Anago.
  3. Ogun state has a great political track record. It has produced the majority of Nigeria’s political leaders from the South-West region. All South-Westerners who were once the President or Head of State of the country (Obasanjo, Shonekan) all hail from Ogun State. Chief Jeremiah Obafemi Awolowo, the first premier of the Western region, was also from Ogun state.
  4. The state is recorded to have the highest number of registered (private) universities and higher institutions in Nigeria and it is the only state that runs two state-owned universities in the country.
  5. Ogun state contributes significantly to the production of poultry products in Nigeria. In addition, the popular Ofada rice is grown almost exclusively in Ogun state. The rice was actually named after the town Ofada – the town where it was first successfully cultivated.

Thinking of where to visit when in Ogun State, check out https://olatorera.com/top-5-tourist-attractions-in-ogun-state/

Push Your Dreams!

Push Your Dreams - Powerful Motivational Sparks - Olatorera Consultancy  Limited

Leave a Reply