Top 3 ECOWAS Milestones As Member Countries Celebrate 45 Years of the Union

In May 2020, The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), celebrated 45 years since its establishment. The Union of countries for economic prosperity, has been a key pillar in the promotion of West Africa’s trade and economic progress. Countries that form the ECOWAS union are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cote D’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo. In the 2000s, ECOWAS established “Vision 2020”. Today, under the leadership of President Jean Claude Kassi Brou, the union continues to push for growth and progress across member countries.

Dawda Jawara, A Founding Father of ECOWAS from Gambia

Top 3 Milestones of ECOWAS/CEDAO Since 1975:

  • 1993: Signing of Revised Treaty in Cotonou, Benin
  • 2007: Transformation from an Executive Secretariat to a full fledged Commission with HQ in Abuja, Nigeria.
  • 2019: Adoption of a New Organogram for ECOWAS Institutions excluding EBID

Push Your Dreams

“Push Your Dreams” is an Electronic Non-Fiction Book of inspiring and powerful educational extracts authored by Olatorera Oniru“Push Your Dreams” has 365 pages filled with powerful sparks to help you grow fast into an influential master of business and life. Available now on and on

About Olatorera Consultancy (OC):

Olatorera Consultancy is a modernistic venture combining deeply-rooted knowledge on Africa’s culture and challenges plus close relationships with topmost leaders to promote development. We provide consultancy, business development and advisory services to notable companies and high net-worth individuals. 

Leave a Reply